2 December, 2014

The stand out performers in New Zealand business for 2014 have been honoured at a ceremony in Auckland’s Vector Arena, marking the 25th anniversary of the Deloitte Top 200 Awards.

The New Zealand Herald and Newstalk ZB presented the Awards which were hosted by broadcasters Susan Wood and Tim Wilson.

The winners of the 2014 Deloitte Top 200 Awards were announced as:

Most Improved Performance - Tourism Holdings
Best Growth strategy- Delegat Group
Excellence in Governance - Fletcher Building
Young Executive of the Year - Michael Lewis (New Zealand Post)
Chairperson of the Year- Tony Carter (Air New Zealand and Fisher and Paykel Healthcare)
Visionary Leader Award – Bruce Plested (Mainfreight)
Diversity Award – Bank of New Zealand
Executive of the Year- Simon Challies  (Ryman Healthcare)
Company of the Year- Air New Zealand

Deloitte CEO, Thomas Pippos, unreservedly congratulated all of the Top 200 winners, saying he continued to be impressed with the level of leadership and vision in New Zealand business.

“The high level of excellence demonstrated at these awards should give New Zealand great confidence in our business leaders,” he said. “After twenty-five years of honouring our business heroes, and despite ongoing global and domestic uncertainties, the vision and ability for our top companies to succeed is stronger than ever.”

Executive Business Writer for the New Zealand Herald, Fran O’Sullivan, convened the judging panel and said the individuals and organisations who received awards were disciplined, visionary and committed to bottom line.

“These are business leaders who understand the need to deliver today while transforming the workplace to meet tomorrow’s challenges,” she said.