2 December, 2016

The winners of the 2016 Deloitte Top 200 Business Awards were announced this evening at the Vector Arena. The awards, which celebrate excellence in business, were established in 1990 to annually recognise outstanding individual and team performances in New Zealand’s largest companies and trading organisations.

The finalists and winners of the 2016 Deloitte Top 200 Awards are listed below.

Deloitte Top 200 judging panel convenor Fran O'Sullivan, NZME Head of Business, says the organisations and individuals that received awards this evening are visionary leaders who are committed to their business and driven to succeed.

“They are leaders who can consistently adapt to the changing economic landscape and understand the need to provide leadership at the highest level, enabling their team to deliver.”

Deloitte and Orbit World Travel Chief Executive of the Year award winner Mike Bennetts from Z Energy impressed the judges with his leadership style.

“Mike Bennetts is an authentic leader who has set the vision and delivered on what has been a great success story in the market for Z Energy. He leads from the front and has delivered outstanding results, not just in the last 12 months, but also previously. Z Energy’s acquisition of Caltex was significant and the importance of a clear strategy was critical to ensure the company is successful. Through Mike’s leadership, management has successfully delivered that.” says O’Sullivan

Fellow judge Cathy Quinn added that to select a winner from the finalists was extremely difficult.

“Every finalist has a great story”, said Quinn, who is chairman Minter Ellison Rudd Watts. “Each is a person or organisation that is held in high regard for their achievements and contribution, and this alone should be celebrated.”

The judging panel also includes independent directors Dame Alison Paterson, Sandy Maier and Jonathan Mason, and Neil Paviour-Smith.

NZME Chief Executive Michael Boggs is thrilled NZME is partnered with the Deloitte Top 200 Awards to celebrate business excellence in New Zealand.

“NZME is proud to support New Zealand businesses and these awards show that these businesses are leading not only nationally, but at a world class level. The diversity of sectors showing excellence is inspiring – congratulations to all the finalists and winners.” 

Deloitte chief executive Thomas Pippos congratulated all of the Top 200 winners, who continue to impress with the standard of leadership in New Zealand’s largest organisations.

“This is the 27th year of the Deloitte Top 200 awards, and the level of talent, vision and leadership is still inspiring business people all over New Zealand. These individuals and organisations should be incredibly proud of their achievements.”

The awards would not be possible without the generous sponsorship from several industry leading organisations. QBE Insurance, Eagle Technology, IMNZ, AJ Park, Minter Ellison Rudd Watts, Ministry of Business and Innovation Employment, Massey University Business School and Orbit World Travel all support and recognise the value of these awards.


2016 Deloitte Top 200 Awards Winners

Deloitte and AJ Park Company of the Year Award


Z Energy



  •          Spark
  •          Restaurant Brands


Deloitte and Orbit World Travel Chief Executive of the Year Award


Mike Bennetts - Z Energy



  •          Simon Moutter - Spark
  •          Patrick Davies – Ebos Group


Massey University Business School Chief Financial Officer of the Year Award


Jolie Hodson - Spark



  •          Andrew Carroll - Chorus
  •          Gordon MacLeod - Ryman Healthcare


QBE Insurance Chairperson of the Year Award


Christopher Moller



  •          Trevor Janes 
  •          Rob Campbell


Minter Ellison Rudd Watts Excellence in Governance Award





  •          Nuplex 
  •          Lester Levy

Most Improved Performance Award





  •          Trade Me
  •          Kathmandu


Best Growth Strategy Award


Synlait Milk



  •          Ryman Healthcare
  •          The a2 Milk Company


Ministry of Business and Innovation EmploymentDiversity Leadership Award




  •          ANZ
  •          IAG


Eagle Technology and IMNZ Young Executive of the Year Award


James Bergin, Chief Architect (GM Architecture, Strategy and Innovation), ASB


  •          Andrew Slater, Chief Executive Officer, Homecare Medical / The National Telehealth Service.
  •          Kimberley Bray, National Service Manager, Ravensdown
  •          Sasha Lockley, Head of Operations, Avanti Finance
  •          Michael Stribling, General Manager Strategy, Spark


Visionary Leader Award


Ranjna Patel



For further information please contact:

Kate Barron

Niki Schuck PR

+64 27 422 0079